Jewelry from the Past

This past weekend I spent some quality time at home with my parents.  Instead of doing the usual shopping at the mall, my mom and I went through her drawers full of jewelry.  It was a lot of fun looking at her pieces and listening to stories of how they came to be acquired.

In particular, I loved those precious and few pieces passed down from earlier generations.  Their history endows them with so much personal meaning.  It made me think more deeply about why we wear jewelry and how we collect jewelry.  Over the years, I’ve gotten more selective about the jewelry that I buy, simply because I want to look back on them years from now and associate them with memories and feelings.  Jewelry, at its best, is a conduit that connects us to our history, beliefs, hopes and dreams.

Here’s something from this weekend that will join my growing little collection of inherited pieces.  It’s a simple and chic leather and gold watch that belonged to my maternal grandmother who passed away a few years ago.

Coincidentally, one of my most vivid memories from childhood is my grandmother telling me a bed time story of how her youngest little daughter (my aunt) saw a gold watch on the floor of a store and sought to return it to its owner (instead of pocketing it).  I used to make her tell me the story again and again until I finally fell asleep.  This watch will be a gentle reminder of our time spent together and I plan to wear it fondly for years to come.

Leave a Reply

