A(lways) B(e) K(nolling)

This weekend was simply gorgeous  in New York City.

Yesterday we attended the last day of Tom Sachs’ exhibit “Space Program Mars” at the Park Avenue Armory.  As part of the exhibition, we sat in a cozy little theatre and watched five different short films.  Together, they captured the spirit of Tom’s creative approach and gave the audience a peak into his studio.

I loved these films.  They exult the ordinary things that we overlook and lend them an aura of beauty and mystery.  They cover subject matters such as “How to Sweep”, “Love Letter to Plywood”, “Color”.  You can find them here.

What impressed me the most about this experience is stepping into the mind of the artist and understanding his approach to art.  Discipline, thoroughness and attention to detail are at the core of everything he does.  If you really have time to kill, I recommend the film “Ten Bullets,” which lays out the 10 rules that all members of his studio must abide.

The one that spoke the most to me is A(lways) B(e) K(nolling).  You may ask, “what the heck is knolling?”  Knolling is the process of arranging like objects in parallel or 90 degree angles as a method of organization.  Like this:

Image

Yes, some may find this a bit OCD.  I actually find this extremely therapeutic.  Recently I’ve been living in a world of chaos (in a literal sense).  My work space, my living room, bedroom, bathroom have been overtaken with objects, clothing, books, mail that just sprawl across these space, leaving me no room to mentally breathe.  In my creative frenzies, I became fixated on the end objective (creating x, y, z) and I undermined the sacredness of my workspace and home space.

Let’s just say I’ll be knolling today.  🙂

Leave a Reply

